Leaving mark: EVS

One of the main goals in this project was to leave a mark, and not only teach them Spanish language and culture. Do you want to know what I did in the last lessons at my work? If you want to know more, keep reading!

Volunteers and  former volunteer together with students. English lesson.

Last year, while finishing my degree in Spain I was a volunteer in the Europe-wide student organisation called Erasmus Student Network, or also shortened as ESN. ESN is an association that exists all around Europe and organizes a lot of events for Erasmus and international students promoting social and personal integration within mobility. In this association, I was coordinating the project ”Erasmus in Schools”. We organized different visits to schools with Erasmus students, and we talked about Erasmus, and other options to go abroad, or present their countries to the students.

One year later, I have done the same in my work. In the last two English class for teenagers, I have invited different volunteers to talk about their European Voluntary Service  (EVS, now called as European Solidarity Corps ) and Erasmus experiences to the students, so they can get to know these two programs for their future. In this first post, I will talk about EVS.

On the first session, Nelson and Sariyya came and talked about their experience doing EVS.  Nelson was a  volunteer some years ago, in 2015-2016 and he decided to stay here. His life completely changed. Sariyya is a current EVS volunteer from Azerbaijan, she is working in STRIM office creating different projects and doing different things. I have to say that she is doing a really good job, creating very interesting projects and she comes up with very cool ideas!!  After their visit, Sariyya shared with us some thoughts; ”I am very happy and honored to have a chance to present Azerbaijan, my culture and history. EVS is a wonderful experience, which allows us to share knowledge, break stereotypes and ignorance regarding differences. Another thing I really enjoy is communicating with local students and getting to know their views and thoughts about different topics.” Indeed, I am very thankful and happy they came and share their own experience. In the previous picture, you can see us (on the left, I, Nelson and Sari) with all the students.

European Voluntary Service is a project that allows young people to go to another country for a period of time and volunteer there doing different tasks.  In exchange of your volunteer work, you get accommodation, pocket money, they paid for the flight, and much more important, many unforgettable experiences with people from many different countries.

If I could give you any advice, it would be; Don’t think about it, apply and go for EVS.

If you want to know more about Erasmus, go to the next post!

Dodaj komentarz